The PlayStation Platforming Treasure Trove

Image

I’ve said it before, but I can be late to the party. Like, really, really late. Like, the janitor is gone late. Case in point; Sly Cooper, Jak and Daxter, and Ratchet & Clank are some amazing platformers that I never had bothered to get into before. I’ve been having a lot of fun playing LittleBigPlanet and Tearaway (more on that in the future) on my Vita these past couple weeks, but I wanted something a bit different. I’ve been staring at the Sly Collection sit on the shelves in my local GameStop for eons now, and I figured, what the heck, time to give it a try.

Wow. Not perfect, mind you, but the Sly games are just so dang pleasant. The controls are solid, the graphics are pleasing, and the characters are fun. It feels very much like the antithesis of what Nintendo does so well with its Mario platformers, but it still works. Playing Sly made me realize I had to be misjudging Ratchet and Jak, so I quickly snatched up the respective HD collections of those, too, and was even further surprised by their quality.

I know a lot of people enjoy the three of these series, but it feels like they’re deserving of more praise than they’ve received. I’m loving the look and feel of all three franchises, and I’m only getting into their PS2 origins. Outside of Ratchet, it’s a shame that Sly and Jak didn’t get more exposure in the PS3 era. I know that demographics and players’ tastes have changed over the years, but, well, these games are fun! Fun should be embraced, fun should get sequels. If you have yet to try any of these games, please go pick them up; you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

