Bravely Embarking

Image

It’s been a long wait, but Bravely Default is finally in my home. I paid the extra amount to get the Collectors Edition, and it was worth every penny. The box itself is a handsome, matte black, while the interior is packed with a wealth of goodies. I loved Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light on DS, so when I heard that Bravely was going to be its spiritual successor, my hopes soared. It’s not every day that a Final Fantasy spinoff gets a spinoff, after all!

All joking aside, I’m going to do this right and crack into the demo before getting into the main game. It’s not often that I find myself anticipating a game that isn’t part of a series or franchise that I already love a great deal, which I think speaks strongly to Bravely‘s concept. 4 Heroes was an unabashed love letter to fans of the old school FF games, and to see that it was enough of a success to warrant another iteration is heartening. Variety is the spice of life and something the video game industry always needs more of. Expect a review in the next week or so, but in the meantime, I’ll be digging into what I hope is a great RPG experience.

Leave a Reply

