Organization Tips For Videogame Collectors

Image

Here’s one of the storage cubes in my closet; let it be your inspiration!

I spent about five hours yesterday going through my closet and organizing my videogame collection. While videogames might not seem like something that would take up much space, like anything else, the more you compile the more daunting it becomes to keep them organized and stored. Here are some tips for those of you with a small mountain of games to make room for!

1) Keep Your Boxes

The number one thing every collector should make a point of doing is to keep the boxes for all the games and consoles they own. I have boxes for everything I’ve ever bought (well, that had a box to begin with) and it really helps me to keep organized. When games and consoles are loose, they become much easier to scuff up and even break. I’ve found that stores like GameStop will often receive boxes for systems that they currently accept in trade (3DS, Wii, PS3, XBox 360, etc.) which they in turn throw out, so it’s a good idea to ask the person behind the counter if they’ve gotten any recently that they’re going to trash. My XBox 360 has a box because I did exactly that! If you’re trying to build a pristine collection, it’s even more important to save boxes because they’re often irreplaceable, especially when it comes to limited edition bundles.

2) Cubbies/Shelves

In my home, I have a closet devoted to my videogames and memorabilia. At first, I simply stored everything on the shelves that were already there, but it didn’t take long for everything to devolve into a large mass of indistinguishable boxes, posters, and loose handhelds. My solution was to buy a bunch of cheap storage cubes to keep everything in order. I recommend the 2X2 storage cubes available at Target. They’re priced modestly, are stackable, come in different sizes, and also have optional fabric drawers. Regardless of where you find these cubbies, they can easily be placed inside of a closet or basement, where your games and systems will not only be more accessible, but look good, too. My system is half-storage, half-display, and the cubes I bought are perfect for this.

3) Prioritize

The systems and games that I know I won’t be playing as much are put in the more out of reach areas of my closet. It’s best to keep what you know will be seeing a lot of attention in easy access so you don’t have to kill yourself every time you want play with/see it. My handhelds are all front and center, along with each of the current systems’ games (Wii U, PS3, 360). It can be tough deciding what goes in a deep, dark corner, but using something like the cubbies I suggested, or similar shelving, will make your unearthing go smoother.

4) Plastic Bins and CD Sleeves

This is more in the interest of preventing undue wear and tear, but I like to take the discs out of their boxes and put them all into a single, huge CD holder. I’m referring to one of those large, zippered pouches that have pages of CD holding sleeves inside. Your games will stay safe and centrally located, and you won’t have to open and close your games boxes all the time. This is particularly important for Wii games, as I think the white plastic will eventually yellow with too much handling. Plastic tubs and crates are another good way to utilize storage space, as they’re easier to dump less fragile items that don’t fit as well into a cubby hole or on a shelf.

The key is to find a setup that works for you. I like all my stuff to be rigidly neat, but if something a little looser works in your situation, go for it. Just know that if you want to keep your collection in good shape, it’s essential to form some sort of system for keeping it all from getting banged up or crushed. Happy collecting, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

